The Life of a Fire Wife

Teriyaki Chicken with Rice and Vegetables

In a 1 quart freezer bag add one chicken breast, one chicken thigh, and 2 tablespoons teriyaki marinade.  Seal, squeezing out as much air as possible.  On the outside of the bag I use a Sharpie marker to write what’s in the bag.  I’m scared to think of what he might think it actually is.  In another quart size bag add one serving of uncooked rice then seal.  I write cooking directions on the outside of the bag.  

Now I haven’t had much luck blanching and freezing my own veggies.  So until I can master it (or start to like mushy veggies) I bought a family size bag of frozen stir fry veggies and added a single serving to another quart bag.  On the outside I note (in red) that the veggies should be kept frozen until cooking.  

I throw all 3 qt bags into a gallon size bag along with cooking directions for the entire meal.  I know – that’s a LOT of little plastic baggies, but this way he’s not toting plastic containers back and forth, they are much more portable.   If one of the inner bags leaks you’re ok!  You don’t have teriyaki sauce all over the outside of everything else.  

I made up about 4 of these at a time and put them in the freezer with the rest of my inventory.  Now before Johnny leaves I just pick out a few things and throw them in a cooler for the (looooooong) trip to the camp!  

But did I take pictures?  Of course not!

It’s just as easy to package up the chicken for a family size dinner and stow in the freezer too!   Take dinner out of the freezer in the am and defrost on the counter for a few hours.  (Yeah I know – defrosting should be done in the fridge, but I figure I’m already pretty organized and I’m not gonna push it by planning DAYS ahead of time!  I might explode!)

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

